About Us

Welcome to the Maple Ridge Teachers’ Association (MRTA), representing Teachers of Public Schools in the communities of Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows, in School District #42.

Our schools are found on the traditional and unceded territories of the Kwantlen First Nation and Katzie First Nation. From the Pitt River in the West, along the banks of the Fraser River to Hay-ward Lake in the East, our communities dot the lands, hemmed up against the Pitt Polder Marshlands, Golden Ears and Blue Mountain to the North.

The MRTA is an affiliated local of the British Columbia Teachers’ Federation (BCTF). We work to represent teachers both with our Employer, within structures of the BCTF, and government bodies.

Meet Our Full-Time Table Officers

Martin Dmitrieff, MRTA President BSc/BEd

Trevor Takasaki, MRTA 1st VP

MRTA Executive Council 2023-24

Second Vice-PresidentErin Smeed, THSS/MRTAerin@mrtaoffice.ca
Health & SafetyLeanne DunbarGlenwood Elementary
Local RepErin SmeedS+CS/MRTA
Local RepLeanne DunbarGlenwood Elementary
Local RepRichard McGrawPitt Meadows Secondary
Ab Ed RepJocelyn McIntoshGlenwood Elementary
Continuing Education RepKim Henneberry GloverContinuing Education (Riverside)
Local Election ContactDale HardyGarabaldi Secondary
Member at LargeMelissa Carr
Member at LargeKaitlin ThorarinsonPitt Meadows Secondary
MembershipNicole RowleyS+CS @ RS
SecretaryLindsay ZepeskiMaple Ridge Elementary
TreasurerRyan NeufeldThomas Haney Secondary
FFWLRichard McGrawPitt Meadows Secondary
Chair, Early Career Teachers’Kara Mitchell
Chair, Professional DevelopmentJennifer MacDonaldDistrict Helping Teacher, Mentoring
Chair, Social JusticeHilaire FordWestview Secondary
Chair, CommunicationsCommittee postponed for 1 year

MRTA Committees

Working and Learning Conditions/Bargaining Committee 2022/23

Chair: Trevor TakasakiMRTA Office
Member: Leanne DunbarGL
Member: Andrea JeangGL
Member: Ali MehrassaGAR
Member: Melanie SedergreenHP
Member: Mark SmeedAT
Member: (2 vacancies)

Professional Development Committee 2022/23

Chair: Jennifer MacDonaldHT (Ment) @ LS
Member: Karen CarruthersTHSS
Member: Penny HillEM/YEN/TTOC
Member: Kara MitchellTTOC
Member: Denise UptonHS/LS
Member: (2 vacancies)

Social Justice Committee 2022/23

Chair: Hilaire FordWSS
Member: Devika ChudyGE
Member: Jocelyn McIntoshAb Ed @ WSS
Member: Valerie MiguelTHSS
Member: Sharmilla MillerGAR
Member: (2 vacancies)

Finance Committee 2022/23

Chair: Ryan NeufeldTHSS
Member: Sharmilla MillerGAR
Member: Sasha PassagliaFV
Member: Nicole RowleyWSS
Member: (1 vacancy)

Early Career Teacher Committee 2022/23

Chair: Kara MitchellTTOC
Member: Victoria CsillagTTOC
Member: Jennifer MacDonaldHT (Ment) @ LS
Member: Thorne MatthewsSCS @ RS
Member: (3 vacancies)